2016 UNM Indigenous Peoples Day celebration

Rearticulations of Native Savagery:

Standing Rock and the Resurgence of Indigenous Activism An Indigenous Peoples Day celebration

Hosted by the Institute for American Indian Research (IFAIR)
October 11, 2016 | Zimmerman Library’s Willard Room | 9:30 AM – 12 NOON

9:30-10:30 AM Featured Talk
“Victory is Possible: Indian Refusals and The Politics of Extraction”
Melanie Yazzie (Diné), Ph.D. (UC Riverside, UCLA Post-doc Fellow)

10:45 AM -12:00 Noon Panel
Norman Brown (Diné), on American Indian Movement and Clemency for Leonard Peltier

Lazarus Nance Letcher (Black, Queer & Trans), on Intersections of Indigenous Activism & Black Lives Matter—a Black Queer Reading

Jennifer Marley (San Ildefonso), on the Persistence of Settler Colonialism as the Santa Fe Fiesta and Indigenous Refusal

Moderator: David Uahikeaikalei‘ohu Maile (Kanaka Maoli), American Studies

The refusal of the Standing Rock Sioux to allow the Dakota Access Pipeline to cross their homelands has led to a gathering of Indigenous nations and peoples not seen for at least a
century. At the University of New Mexico, we celebrate Indigenous Peoples Day by reflecting upon the history of Indigenous activisms and stand in solidarity with the Standing Rock Sioux. Indigenous Day events address the following questions:
(1) How can we imagine justice for Indigenous peoples and their nations?

(2) What does justice for Indigenous peoples look like?

(3) How have earlier struggles for Indigenous liberation
shaped present-day struggles against settler violence and its links to capitalism and neoliberalism?

(4) What are the possibilities for solidarity with other organizations and groups, like Black Lives Matter, who also seek justice and liberation?

After the panel, everyone is invited to a potluck lunch hosted by the Department of Native American Studies Department, Mesa Vista Hall 3080!

This event is co-sponsored by: UNM Indigenous Nations Library Program, Native American Studies, and KIVA Club

See Flyer Here: 9-29-2016